The Little Flames – Album Release ‘The Day is Not Today’

The Little Flames were formed in Liverpool by singer Eva Petersen and songwriter/guitarist Mat Gregory. They were later joined by drummer Greg Mighall, bassist Joe Edwards and guitarist Miles Kane.

Signed to Deltasonic, the band toured extensively during their first years, releasing edgy and anarchic singles Goodbye Little Rose and Put Your Dukes Up, John. Their sound continued to evolve as they absorbed and reformulated an array of influences, ranging from krautrock, Motown and 60s garage, to film music and the symphonic pop of artists like Serge Gainsbourg and Françoise Hardy. In the sessions leading up to the recording of their debut album, working with producer Central Nervous System, the band’s early spiky sound gave way to something altogether darker and more expansive.

The album, The Day is Not Today, was eventually recorded with producer Tore Johansson, using Sweden’s famous Tambourine studios and Gula Studion in Malmö. It showcased the evolution of the band’s music, where the energy and impatience of their earlier twisted guitar pop was not only fully honed (Seven Days, If Tomorrow Never Comes), but juxtaposed with a sound that was both ethereal and cinematic (October Skies, The Girl of Last Year).

The album was mixed, mastered and ready to go in 2007, but before it could be released The Little Flames decided to split up. Miles, Joe and Greg formed The Rascals, with Miles Kane then going on to form The Last shadow Puppets with Alex Turner and recording solo material. Mat and Eva have continued to work separately on various music and art projects. The Little Flames’ second single, Put Your Dukes Up, John, was covered by The Arctic Monkeys after the two bands toured together on the Sheffield band’s first two album tours.

The album was never released.

As part of the re-launch of Deltasonic and reissue series, the decision was taken to finally release the album which was originally recorded in 2006.

Eva Petersen – Vocals
Greg Mighall – Drums
Joe Edwards – Bass
Miles Kane – Guitar
Mat Gregory – Guitar

Listen to ‘The Day is Not Today’: